5 Comments

Why, Don’t You Look Like A Spring Chicken?


I spent a lot of time growing up just hanging around at my grandparent’s house. They lived on a farm at the end of a winding road in the hills of Pennsylvania. My grandfather was actually born on that farm. That farm has a name, Greenwald Farm, because it was walled in with green mountains. That love of play on words is hereditary, it would seem.

I learned many expressions from my crossword solving grandfather, usually through every day conversation. One day I was looking through my grandmother’s closet and trying on old dresses that she hadn’t worn in years. I came downstairs twirling in a green floral dress just as my grandfather was going upstairs. When he saw me he said, “Why, don’t YOU look like a spring chicken?” Coming from the man who spent his entire life on his farm, this was quite the compliment.

THIS is a spring chicken.

This past weekend, I had the pleasure of going to a chicken farm, right here in Jordan. It was a lovely spring day, and we couldn’t have spent it anywhere more beautiful than the farmlands of Zezeya. I hope you will enjoy some pictures of our day.

Aw, isn't it cuuuute?

I never held a chicken before!

Can I keep it?

Baby Chick

My mother in law dressed the part

A walk in the country

This is a chicken farm.

A few wildflowers can make the most mundane objects look artful.

A beautiful end to a beautiful day

.

We couldn’t leave without bringing home a couple for pets.

We haven’t had chickens for pets yet.

Should be interesting.

.

Our new pets, Nugget and Zinger

.

.

I’d like to close today’s post with a little joke my grampa used to tell:

.

What does a two ton baby chick say:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Give up?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Peep!

5 comments on “Why, Don’t You Look Like A Spring Chicken?

  1. This was a great post. I really liked the pictures, too. Well, well done, chickie baby!

  2. nice pics 🙂 and post 🙂 i had chicken for lunch 😛

  3. sheesh not spring for us yet, i’m waiting for the Daffodils to grow in our garden that’s the only sign it’s safe to leave the house without a pair of gloves. cute post and love the stick on tattoos hahahahaha

  4. It is a nice thing when you spend a couple of years living in country side and farms.. You learn many things that city kids wouldn’t think to learn..
    I loved the pictures.. Masha Alla your kids are very cute 🙂

  5. Love it! Great pics! 🙂 We’ll have to stop by and visit the chicks! Fun!! I especially love the pic of the ordinary water spout with the wild flowers! Love it!

Leave a Reply

