7 Comments

I’d like to thank the Academy


I would also like to thank FOXMOVIES, Nilesat, my Nikai TV and Carrefour for stocking inexpensive electronics for the masses, my SMART receiver, Humudeh DVD for always having the movies I want to watch, and I’d like to thank Nabil and IndoMie for their fast and tasty foods that can be prepared during commercial breaks so I could watch the 82nd Academy Awards. And, oh, how could I ever forget my husband, my darling husband (insert meaningful eye contact here) for cutting me some slack and letting me lounge on the couch while my adoring fans, I mean dishes, await.

I could have watched the Academy Awards Show live with my friends in America by waking up very early and tuning in to FOXMOVIES, but #1 I forgot they were on, and #2 they replayed them in the evening, so why bother! By then I knew to listen to Jeff Bridges speech for Best Actor and that Sandra Bullock looked stunning.

Now many people watch the Oscars to see who is wearing what. I am not much of a fashionista, I will leave that up to Roba who does a fine job of saying it like it is. I thought everyone looked really nice (lack of a strong adjective should give you an idea of how much I really don’t care about fashion). I do agree with Roba that Meryl Streep was probably the best dressed actress there and Charlize Theron was an abysmal disappointment. But the prettiest lady there, in my opinion, wasn’t even an actress. Kathryn Bigelow, who was up for Best Director was ravishing.

Here are the highlights as I saw them:

Wasn’t it fun having Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin cohost? In the beginning of the show, they pretty much roasted everyone there but the only one who looked bothered and I still have yet to know why is George Clooney. He could not hide the apprehension on his face. My favorite line given by a straight faced Steve Martin was “Oh look, it’s that damn Helen Mirren!”

I noticed the absence of Robert Pattinson. I am sure there is a story there. Antonio Banderas was sporting a beard, what was up with that? That got me thinking of a previous awards show where Brad Pitt had a shaggy beard. Hey! Where was  that basterd?

Did you see that Jeff Bridges? He sure aged gracefully. I am totally in love with his wrinkles. Anyone with laugh lines like that deserves an award. His speech for was sweet, just as promised.

The winner of best original song, Ryan Bingham, for “The Weary Kind” from my movie of the season, “Crazy Heart” – most romantic acceptance speech of the night, thanking his wife….

i love you more than rainbows, baby.

The Hurt Locker sure won a lot of awards, six if you are counting. I had never heard of it before. Wow, it was filmed in Jordan. How did I not hear of this? Kathryn Bigelow won for Best Director for her direction on The Hurt Locker. I can’t believe that I was recognized in an Academy Award speech. She thanked the people of Jordan. That’s me! The Hurt Locker is officially at the top of my  must see movie list.

I actually made a list of all the films I must see while watching tonight. Here they are in no particular order: The Hurt Locker, Precious, Nine, The Lovely Bones, Crazy Heart, A Single Man, An Education, The Last Station, The Dark Knight, Food Inc., Ajami, Misery, Rosemary’s Baby, and anything Alfred Hitchcock.

Juan J. Campanella won for Best Foreign Film and I loved how in his speech he thanked the Academy for not considering Navi a foreign language. But my favorite speech of the night belonged to Michael Giacchino who won the Oscar for Original Score in the movie Up.

“When I was nine I asked my dad: Can I have your movie camera, that old wind-up 8mm camera that was in your drawer?  And he goes, ‘Sure take it.’  And I took it and I started making movies with it, and I started being as creative as I could and never once in my life did my parents ever say what you’re doing is a waste of time.  Never.”

“And I grew up and I had teachers, I had colleagues, people who I worked with all through my life who always told me that what you’re doing is not a waste of time.  So that was normal to me that it was okay to do that.”

“I know that there are kids out there that don’t have that support system.  So if you’re out there and you’re listening, listen to me.  If you want to be creative get out there and do it.  It’s not a waste of time.  Do it.”

That is pure inspiration. Thank you, Michael, for giving thanks where it was due and giving that added encouragement to kids (and adults) everywhere.

I never thought I would say this, especially after living out of a depressing apartment in Hollywood for an entire year (until the lease was finally over and we ran off to Orange County as fast as we could), but “Hooray for Hollywood!”

7 comments on “I’d like to thank the Academy

  1. Your coverage is as good as E! or ET or The Insider could do. I thoroughly enjoyed several parts, especially the tribute to John Hughes, the movie-maker extraordinaire of my generation. I loved S. Martin and A. Baldwin as hosts, too. Did you catch them in their snugglies backstage? Priceless. Or when they were doing a parody of Paranormal Activity? I almost busted a gut. (nothing unusual)

    It’s GREAT to be loved more than rainbows, no?

    OK, back to life, back to the (dishes) reality. I also played kitchen duty hooky.

  2. You summed it all up.
    I loved watching Martin and Baldwin. That is why I tuned in, and ofcourse I was routing for Avetar and Precious…
    My funniest moment however, was when Ben Stiller took the stage. I laughed so hard my neighbors heard me.

  3. That was really nice… you did a nice review.

    and about clooney, i guess they agreed to do that on purpose, i mean the grins and the looks of the cohosts, it was fun to watch them give the looks to each other then eventually they can’t hold it and smile.

    And for your must see list. i have a similar list too, maybe a little longer. If you u want to have company in that, i’m having a movie club over my blog. We watch a movie in the weekend then review it together.

    • Thank you, ze2red for the nice comment! Oh, so what you are saying is George Clooney was acting. Well, that’s what actors do. I was convinced he was dreading what was to come.

      Your movie club sounds like a fun idea. I went out today and got Precious, The Hurt Locker, and The Lovely Bones. I watched Precious tonight. Let me know which movie you want to do first.

      • What a very nice coincidence, i finished watching precious about 30 min ago. i’m speechless, it’s heart breaking and so far i can’t find words to review the movie. The actresses were amazing, it’s like if you are watching a very true story recorded live. So far i can’t find words to review it. So if you want to do that, be my guest. I would love people to take turns with me.

  4. […] me of new posts via email. « I’d like to thank the Academy […]

  5. I have enjoyed your words as much as I enjoyed watching the awards. (And gosh, isn’t George Clooney simply dashing? ah…). Who was the red-haired gal making the unexpected (and unwanted) speech during the other-guy’s speech? Too weird!

Leave a Reply

