6 Comments

Cari’s Cravetastic Coffee Cake and the Hostess with the Mostess (plates to serve, that is)


One big benefit to the numerous coffee mornings I go to with friends is the ability to sample new and exciting treats. My friend, Cari, made the most wonderful coffee cake recently and I have been spreading the word about it. It was the most perfect coffee cake in texture in flavor that I have ever had. With a ribbon of fruit filling and a crunchy streusel topping as well as that hint of glaze, you will be craving it as well.

.

.

Let them eat cake!

.

.

I have made it twice already in the week and a half that she gave me the recipe. She made it with apple pie filling, but I could only get my hands on strawberry. It was darn tasty too, but the apples, oh! The second time I made it, I went to recipezaar and found a really easy recipe for apple pie filling which I cooked up just for this cake. The variations are endless. Next time, I am going to make it with my homemade banana marmalade .

.

.

Fruits on a plate

Tea on a tray

.

.

Jordanians tend to go for a less sweet cake and I think this fills the bill quite well. I served it for my in-laws this week . It went along nicely with the coffee, tea, fruits, bizzer (seeds and nuts), and chocolates. But sadly, they all left before the last cup of coffee was served. I love playing hostess, but my timing is always off for my Arab guests. Inshallah, they feel welcome at my house. I shall keep trying!

Cari’s Apple Nut Coffee Cake

Cake

1/2 cup butter softened
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
3 cups flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup milk
1 can apple pie filling
2 tsp ground cinnamon

Streusel Topping

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
2 tbs butter melted

Glaze

3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon butter, melted
3/4 tsp vanilla
2-3 tsp water

In large bowl cream butter and sugar. Beat eggs. Combine flour, baking powder and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with milk. Pour half into a greased 13x 9 in. baking dish. Combine pie filling and cinnamon; spoon over batter (She adds a little sugar and dash of nutmeg). Drop remaining batter over filling. Spread gently.

Combine topping ingredients. Sprinkle over batter.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 min. or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool on rack.

Drizzle glaze over cooled cake.

6 comments on “Cari’s Cravetastic Coffee Cake and the Hostess with the Mostess (plates to serve, that is)

  1. Yummy! Hope to see you Sunday!

  2. LOL! Ooooo I’m famous now! Have to admit it IS Wonderful Coffee Cake and so easy to make! I dream about it and want more! ha…. . . . of course I didn’t create the recipe myself, so I can’t take credit for it other than MAKING it and finding it online years ago! 🙂 Glad you are enjoying it! The basis IS the cake no matter what you fill it with or garnish it with. Glad I found this recipe! PERK!

  3. Thanks for posting the recipe. I made it yesterday using strawberry filling and am enjoying it this morning with my coffee very good.

  4. You know, Joyce, your food is just one more way you are wonderfully loving. I would love to be your chef’s assistant, and just watch and learn!

  5. kinzi, it was so good to see you.

    Cari, go ahead, take credit. It’s yours now.

    Jehan, amazed that you made it!

    Elaine, you better help eat it too!

  6. […] Cari’s Cravetastic Coffee Cake and the Hostess with the Mostess (plates to serve, that is… […]

Leave a Reply

