1 Comment

If Only in My Dreams


Today, for me, will be a day like any other. After I get up off the computer I will take a shower, say my prayers, stick in a load of laundry, do some dishes and mop my floor. Yes, you have reached my blog for December 25th, 2009. But as a Muslim, I do not “celebrate” Christmas. I do honor the birth of Jesus but in the same humble way I would celebrate the birth of Mohammed. They are both prophets in Islam and deserve equal respect.

I grew up Christian and have deep in my heart memories of Christmases past. My family would gather at our grandparents’ house, enjoy playing with our new toys, eat several bowls of fruit salad, sample all the cookies and fudge, and stuff ourselves with turkey and stuffing. I remember each year playing games nonstop – Monopoly, Life, Trouble, and whatever other games we felt like playing. It seems we would start and finish a jigsaw puzzle in that week between Christmas and New Year. My father would make sure he put the last piece in the puzzle by hiding it until the rest was finished.

As a teen, I would go to midnight Mass, the latest I would be allowed out at that time. We would sing Gloooory, Gloooooory in Excelcius Deo and feel glorious in our dressy clothes. If we were lucky we would see some snow glittering under the streetlights on our way home.

After college, I moved to California where I met my husband. We married and I continued to celebrate Christmas complete with Christmas tree, holiday music and gifts. My oldest daughter can probably still remember this special time. But after much soul searching and before the birth of my twins, I converted to Islam. This was a decision between me and God and I am growing daily closer to God. I am still the same old me worshipping the same God I always did. I know that my change in religion causes some confusion among my Christian friends and family but hope to have an acceptance and understanding of the way I believe. I found this link which can explain some of the views of Muslims on Jesus.

10 brief points Christians
should know about Muslims and Jesus

By Sound Vision Staff Writer

  1. Muslims love Jesus. We also love Abraham, Moses, and Noah, to name just a few other Prophets Muslims revere. May God’s peace be upon all of these great messengers of God.
  2. Muslims also love the mother of Jesus, the Virgin Mary. We believe she was a pious and noble woman chosen over all of the women of the world.
  3. Muslims believe that Jesus was born miraculously of a virgin mother and no father. His birth is miraculous like the birth of Adam, the first human being, who was created with neither mother nor father.
  4. Muslims do not believe that Jesus was the son of God. God is so powerful and self-sufficient that He does not need a son or any kind of partner.
  5. In Arabic Bible the name for God is Allah. Therefore all Arab Christian call God Allah as Muslim do as well.
  6. Jesus did not die on the cross. Rather, God saved  him as his enemies were confused about him. Jesus was taken up by God to Heaven.
  7. Jesus is called Isa (pronounced Eesa) in Arabic.
  8. Jesus performed miracles by the Will of God, like healing the blind and those with leprosy.
  9. Jesus prayed to the same God as all Prophets and we pray to.
  10. Jesus will return before the end of the world.

So I send the warmest wishes of a wonderful holiday to all my Christian friends and family. Say a prayer for me and I will say a prayer for you! God bless.

One comment on “If Only in My Dreams

  1. Nice blog 🙂 The memories will always be in our hearts and a part of us.

Leave a Reply

